simplicity: ginger and apples

i’m fully into the “crisis” phase of my cleanse and i’m happy that i have no psychological sense of alarm; just wholehearted acceptance of the fact that it’s part of the process. my body is clearly ridding itself of something so i’ve been keeping it simple on the juice front, conserving my energies, saving fancier combinations for future days. lots of citrus juices, grapefruits and oranges rolling around my fridge make for quick low clean up juicing. today i found an apple ginger combo soothing and warming (even though it wasn’t that cold out).  these are fujis and i like to add about 2 inches of ginger into the juice, enough to taste but not overstimulate.

~ by cyrah on December 15, 2011.

6 Responses to “simplicity: ginger and apples”

  1. I don’t think I got the notice you were doing a juice cleanse/fast; I actually was also and today is the last day. I even rounded up 6 other people to do it with me including my parents (sort-of, they quit after like 1 day) and If I had known you were also I would have added you to our discussion emails if you would have wanted to be added that is. Maybe next time?
    And yeah apple ginger is a great combo. I would prefer a lil sweet/sour flare to mine so I might have had a braeburn or pink lady instead of fuji.

  2. This looks really good. I am going to bookmark this page. I found your blog via SoulVegFolk, and it’s very interesting.

    • thank you adjoa! your visit is most welcome and appreciated. 🙂

      • So I finally tried this last night. It was delish. I used one fuji apple and about 2 inches of ginger as well. I had to add less than half a cup of water to get it going.

        I think for a cool drink, I can add apple and ginger slices to a plain pitcher of water, because the flavors were just seeping out in the water I used (I took a quick sip of that before I blended it).

        Apples and ginger go so well together, and so healthy. Thank you for sharing this!

      • peace sis adjoa! that’s great to hear you tried this out! aren’t fuji apples delish? they have just the right crunch factor. i love your idea for creating a flavored water using these elements. cucumbers in h20 is the classic mix i always hear about. this may have to wait until my low glycemic project is over but i’m going to have to give this a try. thanks for the tip! 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
